
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) State Plan Update of Cost Shares 
 
 
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) informed South Dakota Medicaid that the 
Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) 08-10, which eliminates the cost sharing requirement for 19-and 
20-year old Medicaid members effective July 1, 2008, has been approved. 
 
According to EPSDT law, cost shares have always been prohibited for children 18 years of age and 
younger.  The Social Security Act allowed states the option, however, of applying cost shares for services 
to 19- and 20-year olds for services rendered under EPSDT.  In 2000 South Dakota Medicaid eliminated 
cost sharing for those members younger than 19. 
 
This SPA removes one possible barrier to access to care for 19- and 20-year olds.  Even though the cost 
shares were nominal, they still involved payment at the time of service.  This SPA also simplifies record-
keeping for providers and frees them of the requirement to collect from 19- and 20-year old patients a fee 
of $2 per screening or dental, optometric, or optical procedure as had been previously required in State 
Plan. 
 


