Lynne A. Valenti
Cabinet Secretary

DSS Mobile Logo Mobile Menu Button

Home & Community-Based Services Waiver Program

The Home and Community Based Services Waiver operated by the Division of Adult Services and Aging, allows the Department to use Title XIX Medicaid to provide home and community based services to individuals that are risk for institutionalization.  

Target Population

Elders and consumers who are over age 18 with a qualifying disability may be eligible for Home and Community Based Waiver services.


In order to qualify, the following must occur:

  • Must be age 65 or older; or age 18 and over with a qualifying disability
  • Meet a Nursing Facility Level of Care
  • Participate in an assessment of needs
  • Must not be a resident of a hospital, nursing facility, or an ICF/MR.
  • The Individual must receive one or more waiver services at least one time per month
  • Must meet financial eligibility as determined by Economic Assistance


Services provided through the waiver include:

  • Homemaker Services
  • Nursing Services
  • Adult Day Services
  • Emergency Response Systems
  • Meals and/or Nutritional Supplements
  • Specialized Medical Equipment
  • Specialized Medical Supplies
  • Respite Care (added in 2007)
  • Adult Companion Services (added 2011)
  • Personal Care Services
  • Assisted Living
  • Environmental Accessibility Adaptations (added 2011)

All consumers receive some degree of nursing through an Individual Care Plan (ICP), whether through the waiver, obtained from their physician in a clinic, Medicare, or through requirements of the administration of medications within the Assisted Living Facility.