No hours can count toward the LMFT license without prior approval of the plan. The application should not be completed or submitted until all the licensing requirements have been met and an applicant is ready for licensure review/consideration.
The LMFT application requires completion and a non-refundable $100 fee paid before licensure
consideration. After approval, the applicant pays $75 initial license fee. The initial
license fee is not prorated.
Licenses are renewed annually for $75 by December 31. A license not renewed by January 1 carries a $50 penalty in addition to the renewal fee and should be sent along with the renewal form.
Forty hours of approved continuing education is required biennially for renewal each odd-numbered year.
The Examination for Marital and Family Therapy is required for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists.
An exam candidate has a choice of taking the National Examination before or after their supervised training requirements. Taking the exam before the training requires completion of an Application for National Examination and South Dakota Plan of Supervision among other requirements.
This exam is offered during four windows of opportunity per year to South Dakota qualified applicants. Dates and locations are determined by the examination service.
Registration for the exam must be completed on a form provided by the board. The exam costs $220 payable to the exam service, plus $75 payable to the exam site. If failed, the re-examination costs $315, with the additional $20 payable to the South Dakota board.
If a candidate is near completion of, or after, supervised training requirements, they must contact the Board office at 605-331-2927 or firstname.lastname@example.org for the examination dates and registration materials.
The LMFT must abide by the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice.