Child Care

Training Overview

Professional Training Areas

The following 15 training areas represent the core knowledge and competencies (skills) all practitioners should have in order to provide for the unique developmental needs of the children, youth and families they serve.  

Within each of these broad training areas, various class topics can be addressed and easily tracked for those enrolled in the Pathways Career Lattice.  

  1. Child growth and development
  2. Child abuse and neglect
  3. Guidance and behavior management
  4. Observing children
  5. Identification and prevention of communicable diseases
  6. Program safety
  7. Nutrition for children
  8. Program management and regulation
  9. Interpersonal communication and relationships
  10. Cultural diversity
  11. Learning environments
  12. Age-appropriate planning
  13. Professionalism
  14. Partnerships with parents
  15. Inclusion of all children