Child Protective Services

Licensing Information

South Dakota needs safe placement resources for children who require placement outside of their home. Homes and facilities providing this type of service are defined as Child Welfare Agencies and must be licensed. Licensing is intended to ensure agencies maintain an acceptable standard of care and provide a safe environment for children. 

The following agencies must be licensed:

  • Family Foster Homes
  • Residential Treatment Centers
  • Group Care Centers for Minors
  • Independent Living Preparation Programs
  • Intensive Residential Treatment Centers
  • Maternity Homes
  • Child Placement Agencies

The Division of Child Protection Services trains prospective foster and adoptive parents to become placement resources for children who are either temporarily or permanently unable to live in their own homes.

This training is known as (PRIDE): Parents Resource for Information, Development and Education. The program involves 30 hours of training and includes a home study process and home consultations.