

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAL SERVICES 700 GOVERNORS DRIVE PIERRE, SD 57501-2291 PHONE: 605.773.3495

> FAX: 605.773.5246 WEB: dss.sd.gov

December 16, 2020

Attention: South Dakota Medicaid Providers

From: South Dakota Medicaid

RE: COVID-19 Vaccine Coverage

South Dakota Medicaid covers the administration of the COVID-19 vaccine(s) that have received Emergency Use Authorization from the Food and Drug Administration. South Dakota Medicaid's maximum allowable reimbursement rate for the administration of the COVID-19 vaccine is based on the Medicare rate. The maximum allowable reimbursement rate for the initial dose is \$16.94 and \$28.39 for the second dose.

Providers should bill for the vaccine administration at their usual and customary charge. The vaccine administration will be reimbursed at the lesser of the provider's usual and customary charge or South Dakota's maximum allowable rate. As the initial supply of the vaccine is federally purchased, there is no reimbursement for the vaccine. The CPT code for the vaccine must be listed on the claim for administering the vaccine. There is no cost share associated with the vaccine and vaccine administration.

The Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine should be billed using CPT code 91300 with the applicable administration code: CPT 0001A (1st dose) or CPT code 0002A (2nd dose). Upon receiving Emergency Use Authorization, the Moderna COVID-19 vaccine should be billed using CPT code 91301 with the applicable administration code: CPT code 0011A (1st dose) or CPT code 0012A (2nd dose).

Based on the <u>Third Amendment to Declaration Under the Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness Act for Medical Countermeasures Against COVID-19</u>, South Dakota Medicaid does not require a physician or other licensed practitioner order for pharmacist-administered vaccines for recipients age 3 years old or older. This temporary coverage exception will end when the COVID-19 Emergency Declaration ends. Coverage of COVID-19 vaccine administration is limited to indicated ages.

Providers should refer to the Physician Administered Drugs, Vaccines, and Immunizations Provider
Manual for additional information regarding coverage of vaccines and claim instructions. Pharmacy claims for vaccines must be submitted on a CMS 1500 claim form or via an 837P electronic transaction.