Older Americans Act

State Units on Aging

Each state is required by the Older Americans Act to have a state unit on aging. South Dakota’s State Unit on Aging is the South Dakota Department of Social Services' Division of Adult Services and Aging.

The responsibilities of the Division of Adult Services and Aging include:

  • Coordinating all state activities related to the purposes of Title III;
  • Developing a State Plan on Aging;
  • Serving as an effective and visible advocate for older persons by:
    • Reviewing and commenting upon all state plans, budgets and policies affecting elders.
    • Providing technical assistance to any agency, organization, association or individual representing the needs of elders.
  • Assuring preferences for services are given to older individuals with greatest economic or social needs.
  • Assuring preference for services are given to low-income minority and rural older adults.

In addition to its Title III mandate, the Division of Adult Services and Aging administers the:

  • South Dakota Long-Term Care Alternatives Program,
  • Title XIX Home and Community Based Waiver,
  • Respite Care Services,
  • Homemaker Services,
  • Personal Care Services,
  • Protective Services,
  • Ombudsman Program, and
  • Senior Health Information and Insurance Counseling (SHIINE) Program