Persons born in the United States (U.S.) are U.S. citizens. This principle applies even to children of parents who are present in the U.S. illegally. For this purpose, the U.S. is defined as the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Non-citizen nationals are individuals who were born in American Samoa and Swain's Island (outlying possessions of the U.S.) are treated just like U.S. citizens. For all manual references, non-citizen nationals will be included in the U.S. citizen group and not identified separately.



South Dakota Food Stamp Certification Manual Revised April 2003