Did you know?

South Dakota has a primary seat belt law
covering everyone 17 and under?

akffective July 1, 2001, all occupants of a vehicle
17 years of age and under must be buckled up.

acChildren under 5 years of age and under 40
pounds are required to use an approved child
safety seat in all seating positions. This is a primary
offense, which means a driver can be stopped for
having children or youth not restrained in their
vehicle even without another violation.

abDrivers are responsible for all passengers 0-17
years old, which means drivers can be ticketed for
not having children or youth properly restrained.

aAll operators and passengers 14-17 years old are
responsible for buckling up themselves, which
means passengers can be ticketed too. The
violation is a petty offense ($25.00 fine).

alNo ticket will be issued for vehicles
manufactured before 1966 that have not been
equipped with seat belts.
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Contact Us

The Child Safety Seat Distribution program is a
program developed to keep kids safe by making sure
they are in the best child safety seat for their height and
weight until they are at least 49"

To learn if you qualify for a child seat, visit dss.sd.gov/ or
contacta program in your region.
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Region 1: West

Early Childhood Connections

2218 Jackson Blvd, Suite #4, Rapid City, SD 57702
(605) 342-6464 or (888)999-7759

Region 2: Central

Early Childhood Training Network
124 E. Dakota Ave, Pierre, SD 57501
(605) 773-4755 or (866) 206-8206

Region 3: North

Sanford Children’s CHILD Services

110 6th Ave SE, Suite 100, Aberdeen, SD 57401
(605) 262-8505 or (800) 982-6404

Region 4: Northeast

Family Resource Network, SDSU
PO Box 2218, Brookings, SD 57007
{605) 688-5730 or (800) 354-8238

Region 5: Southeast

Sanford Children’s CHILD Services

1115 W 41st Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57105
(605) 333-0698 or (800) 235-5923 Ext. 4

South Dakota Department of Social Services
Phone: 1-800-227-3020

South Dakota’s
Child Safety Seat
Distribution
Program




Child Safety Seat
Tips

v Always refer to your specific car seat manufacturer’s
instructions; read the vehicle owner’s manual on
how to install the car seat using the seat belt or
LATCH system; and check height and weight

limits.

v To maximize safety, keep your child in rear-facing
car seat until age 2 or until they reach the
manufacturer’s maximum height and weight for
their seat.

v Keep your child in the car seat for as long as
possible, which is as long as your child fits the seat's
height and weight requirements.

v Keep your child in the back seat until they reach at
least 13 years of age.

v Your child should use a booster seat until they are 4
feet 9 inches (57 inches) tall and are between 8 and
12 years of age, when regular seat belts are most
likely to fit properly.

v Be sure all occupants wear their seat belts correctly

every time.

Car Seat Recommendations for Children

Its important to remember the “best” child safety seat is the one that

correctly fits the child, the vehicle, and is used correctly every time.

Birth to 12 Months v

Your child under age 1 should always
ride in a rear-facing car seat. There are
different types of rear-facing car seats:
Infant-only seats can only be used rear-
facing. Convertible and 3-in-1 car seats
typically have higher height and weight
limits for the rear-facing position,
allowing you to keep your child rear-
facing for a longer period of time.

1 to 3 Years

The best way to keep your child safe
is to keep him or her rear-facing as
long as possible. Your child should
remain in a rear-facing car seat until
he or she reaches the top height or
weight limit allowed by your carseat’s
manufacturer. Once your child
outgrows the rear-facing car seat,
your child is ready to travel in a
forward-facing car seat with a

harness.

4 to 7 Years
A forward-facing car seat with a

\]

harness should be used for your
child until he or she reaches the
top height or weight limit
allowed by your car seat’s
manufacturer. Once your child
outgrows the forward-facing car
seat with a harness, it’s time to
travel in a booster seat, but still in
the back seat.

8 to 12 Years J &

Use a booster seat until your child
is big enough to fit in a seat belt
properly. To fit properly, the lap
belt must lie snugly across the
upper thighs, not the stomach.
The shoulder belt should lie snug

Y across the shoulder and chest and
not across the neck or face.
Remember: your child should still
ride in the back seat because it’s

safer there.

Types of Child Safety Restraints

A REAR-FACING CAR SEAT is the best seat for your young child to use. It has a harness and in a crash, cradles and moves with
your child to reduce the stress to the child’s fragile neck and spinal cord.

A FORWARD-FACING CAR SEAT has a harness and tether that limits

your child’s forward movement during a crash.

A BOOSTER SEAT positions the seat belt so that it fits properly over

the stronger parts of your child’s body.

4 STEPS FOR KIDS
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FORWARD- BOOSTER  SEAT BELT
FACING FACING

A SEAT BELT should lie across the upper thighs and be snug across the shoulder and chest to restrain the child safely in a crash. It
should not rest on the stomach area or across the neck. NEVER let the child put the belt under their arm or behind their back.
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