Lynne A. Valenti
Cabinet Secretary

DSS Mobile Logo Mobile Menu Button
June 7, 2011

Capital Area Counseling is Available to Help
Local Residents Cope with the Flood
Mental health professionals will provide counseling

PIERRE, S.D. – Capital Area Counseling, with offices located in Pierre, is available to provide assistance to local residents affected by the flooding in the Pierre and Fort Pierre communities.

Capital Area Counseling is coordinating the local behavioral health (mental health and substance abuse) crisis response with support from surrounding communities and other statewide partners. Individuals and families who have been impacted by the flood and are dealing with stress, anxiety, fear and other behavioral health issues are encouraged to seek professional assistance. Counseling is currently available at no cost to those who are being impacted by this disaster in Pierre and Fort Pierre.

If you or any of your family members need to speak with someone about the flood and its impact on your life, professionals are available for call-in and walk-in assistance from Noon-6:00 p.m. CST, Monday through Friday at the following locations:

  • Lutheran Memorial Church, 320 E. Prospect, Pierre
  • Stanley County Courthouse, Fort Pierre
  • Capital Area Counseling, 803 E. Dakota Avenue, Pierre
  • Capital Area Counseling, 2510 E. Franklin Street, Pierre

All information is confidential.

Contact information:

  • Dennis Pfrimmer
  • Phone: 605-224-5811 (during office hours)
    605-295-2311 (after office hours)
  • Locations: 803 East Dakota Avenue and 2510 East Franklin Street, Pierre, South Dakota
  • Website:

About Capital Area Counseling: Capital Area Counseling has been providing services since 1968. They are accredited by the State of South Dakota as a mental health, addiction treatment and child welfare agency. Capital Area Counseling has clinical staff available to serve children, youth, adults and seniors in the following counties: Buffalo, Haakon, Hughes, Hyde, Jones, Lyman, Potter, Stanley and Sully Counties.