News...
May 10, 2007

Another Reminder to Use Proper Safety Seats for Your Child’s Height and Weight
May Mobilization: May 14 through May 28, 2007

PIERRE, S.D. – May Mobilization is May 14 – May 28, 2007 and the Governor’s Child Seat Program: Project 8 is partnering with the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety, local law enforcement as well as other safety agencies across the state during this time to help increase awareness on proper child safety seat utilization and installation.

Project 8 will hold free child safety seat check up events across the state during this two-week period to help with demonstrating and educating adults on the proper way to install child safety seats. Below is a list of sites where inspections and installations will take place:

  • May 15:
    White River, EMS Bldg on N. Roosevelt, 11 a.m.-3 p.m. (MDT)
  • May 15:
    Webster Headstart, 616 Main St, 2-5 p.m. (CDT)
  • May 19:
    Gregory Hospital, 405 Whittecar Ave, 1-4 p.m. (CDT)
  • May 19:
    Spearfish High School, 1725 N Main St, 10 a.m.-2 p.m. (MDT)
  • May 24:
    Tea, Tea Tots Daycare, 2100 N Devon, 4:30-6:30 p.m. (CDT)
  • May 24:
    Sioux Falls, AAA SD, 1300 Industrial Ave, 12-5 p.m. (CDT)
  • May 26:
    Huron, Wal-Mart, 2791 Dakota Ave S, 11 a.m.-2 p.m. (CDT)

The purpose of Project 8 is to remind all parents, child care providers, and other guardians to use the proper restraint system for their child’s height and weight. Once a child reaches 40 pounds, a booster seat should be utilized until the child is at least 8 years old. By then most children reach the proper height and weight requirements (4’9” and more than 80 pounds) to ride safely in a seatbelt.

Project 8 also distributes infant seats, toddler seats, or booster seats to income eligible families throughout South Dakota. To learn more about the events occurring around the state now and throughout the rest of the summer, contact the Department of Social Services at 605-773-3165 or visit www.state.sd.us/project8.