Energy Assistance

Weatherization Assistance

The Weatherization Assistance Program is designed to help low income South Dakota households overcome the high cost of energy by making their homes more energy efficient.

Weatherization work is completed by four different community action programs serving specific counties throughout the state. See the list of community action programs below to contact the program serving your county.

Weatherization Measures

The weatherization of a home may or may not include weatherization measures such as:

  • Weather-stripping of doors and windows.
  • Caulking and sealing cracks and holes in a building structure.
  • Insulating attics, walls and under floors.
  • Repair, tune-up or replacement of non-functional heating systems.
  • Incidental repairs necessary to protect the weatherization material.


Eligibility is based on household income. Priority is given to the elderly, individuals with disabilities, families with children and single family dwellings.

There is no cost for weatherization assistance. However, funds are limited so you may be placed on a waiting list. Renters, as well as homeowners, are eligible if the landlord gives written permission for the work to be done. A contribution from the landlord may be requested.


Beginning July 1, 2009, families with an annual income of up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level will be eligible for assistance. This temporary change in eligibility is expected to last until September 2010, but is dependent on funding availability.

Household Size
3-Month Income Maximum

Contact Information

Inter-Lakes Community Action
PO Box 268, Madison  SD 57042-0268
Phone: (605) 256-6518 or 1-800-896-4105
Fax: (605) 256-2238

Counties Served: Brookings, Clark, Codington, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Lake, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody.


Rural Office of Community Services
PO Box 70, Lake Andes  SD 57356-0070
Phone: (605) 487-7634 or 1-800-793-3290
Fax: (605) 487-7883

Counties Served: Aurora, Bon Homme, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Gregory, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jerauld, Jones, Lincoln, Lyman, Mellette, Sanborn, Todd, Tripp, Turner, Yankton, Union.

Northeast South Dakota Community Action
104 Ash St E, Sisseton  SD 57262-1551
Phone: (605) 698-7654 or 1-800-245-3895
Fax: (605) 698-3038

Counties Served: Beadle, Brown, Campbell, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, McPherson, Marshall, Potter, Roberts, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Walworth.

Western South Dakota Community Action
1844 Lombardy Drive, Rapid City  SD 57701-4130
Phone: (605) 348-1460 or 1-800-327-1703
Fax: (605) 348-8440

Counties Served: Bennett, Butte, Corson, Custer, Dewey, Fall River, Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Perkins, Shannon, Pennington, Ziebach.