Child Support

Employer Information

New Hire Reporting

Under federal and state laws, employers are required to report all newly hired employees to a designated state agency within 20 days of the date the employee first provides services for pay on a W-4 or equivalent form. Alternatively, employers can elect to report all new hires twice monthly by magnetic or electronic methods.

To report newly hired employees, employers must send a copy of the information contained in the new employee's federal W-4 tax withholding form or equivalent form to:

  • South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
    New Hire Reporting Center
    PO Box 4700
    Aberdeen, SD 57402-4700
  • You can call the New Hire Reporting Center toll-free at 1-888-827-6078 or (605) 626-2942.
  • The fax number is 1-888-835-8659.

As mentioned earlier, this information must be reported within 20 days of the date the employee first provides services for pay. If you have questions regarding your new hire reporting requirements, please contact the center at the address or phone number above.

Many individuals who owe child support cannot be located for a period of time, or frequently change jobs and move across state lines to avoid payment. The new hire information is being used by state child support enforcement agencies to quickly locate and collect child support from the responsible parents, which in turn reduces the number of custodial parents forced to seek assistance for their children at the taxpayer expense.

The information gathered by each state is entered into a national directory of new hires maintained at the federal level and matched against a national database of people involved in child support cases. It is estimated that as many as 40 percent of delinquent parents no longer live in the same state as their children, the national new hire database will significantly improve enforcement of child support obligations.

Provisions within federal and state laws allows the Department of Social Services to:

  • Subpoena information from employers for child support enforcement purposes;
  • Require South Dakota employers to honor orders to withhold income issued by other states for the collection of child support; and
  • Require the Department of Social Services to conduct quarterly data matches with financial institutions to identify accounts and assets of delinquent parents.