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About QMHP

The Department of Social Services, Division of Behavioral Health provides Qualified Mental Health
Professional (QMHP) training as required by SDCL 27A-1-7 to eligible professionals.

The web-based training provides education regarding the statutory requirements pertaining to the
emergency committal process and must be completed every four years. This training is not required
for professionals to provide services which are within the scope of a licensed discipline. However,
QMHP training is required to conduct the examination specified in SDCL 27A-10-6.

How do | know if | am eligible to take the QMHP Training?

To be eligible for the QMHP training, one must be in good standing with any relevant South Dakota
licensing or certification board and meet one of the qualifications of SDCL 27A-1-3 found

here: http://www.sdleqislature.gov/Statutes/Codified Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?
Type=Statute&Statute=27A-1-3.

Qualified professionals include:

e Licensed psychologist

» Advanced practice nurse (such as an APRN, CNP, or CNS) with at least a master’s degree and
Iwo Tye<:1rsTor 1,000 hours of clinical experience that includes mental health evaluation and
reatmen

o Certified Social Worker in Private or Independent Practice (CSW-PIP)

« Certified Social Worker (CSW]) with 2 years of clinical supervision and is employed by the state
or a community mental health center OR has an organizational plan of supervision approved
by the Division of Behavioral Health (see below).

» Master’s degree in pspchoIQ?y with 2 years of clinical supervision being supervised by a South
Dakota licensed psychologist.

e Licensed Professional Counselor-Mental Health (LPC-MH)

« Licensed Professional Counselor rLPC) with 2 years of clinical supervision and is employed by
the state or a community mental health center OR has an organizational plan of supervision
approved by the Division of Behavioral Health (see below).

e Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) with 2 years of clinical supervision

e Physician Assistant with 2 years or 1,000 hours of clinical experience that included mental
health evaluation and treatment

Any required supervision must have been provided in a mental health setting. Supervisees/those
who are not yet licensed are not eligible.

Federal government employees who are licensed in another state, are in good standing with their
licensing board, and acting within the scope of their professional license are eligible for South
Dakota's QMHP.

What is an approved organizational plan of supervision and when is it needed?

A formal organizational clinical supervision arrangement must be in place for CSWs or LPCs who are
not employed by the state of South Dakota or a community mental health center to be eligible for
QMHP. An individualized plan of supervision approved by the state board does not meet criteria for
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the organizational plan of supervision.

Organizational plans of supervision can be submitted to the Division of Behavioral Health for review
and approval. If the plan is approved, the agency will have approval for all LPCs/CSWs applying for
QMHP provided all qualifications are met. The plan should be on your organization’s letterhead and
contain the following:

e Frequency of supervision/type of supervision (individual, team, etc.)
o Supervisor is licensed for private practice (ie- LCSW-PIP, LPC-MH, etc.)
o Access to Supervisor in event of emergency QMHP evaluation

o QMHP certification for LPC/CSW is only valid while employed within the
organization.

Organizational clinical supervision plan letters can be emailed to DSSBHQMHP@state.sd.us.

What does the term “mental health center” refer to regarding QMHP training eligibility?

The term “mental health center” refers to the 11 state confracted community mental health centers
(CMHGC:s) in the state of South Dakota. They include Brookings Behavioral Health and Wellness,
Capital Area Counseling Services, Community Counseling Services, Dakota Counseling Institute,
Human Service Agency, Lewis & Clark Behavioral Health Services, Northeastern Mental Health
Center, Southeastern Behavioral HealthCare, Southern Plains Behavioral Health Services, Three Rivers
Mental Health Center, and West River Mental Health. Mental health centers are further defined in
SDCL 27A-1-1(14).

Why may | be asked about my credentials, training/education, and/or supervision?

To be eligible to complete the QMHP training and perform examinations for involuntary
commitment, you must provide your licensing, certification board standing and your supervised
experience in mental health settings to verify you meet the criteria outlined in SDCL 27A-1-3.
Depending on your credentials and your place of employment, you may also be asked to provide
information related to the formal supervision arrangements you are currently receiving at your place
of employment.
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First Time Users

If you have previously obtained your QMHP in South Dakota, please skip to page 5 for instructions on
recertifying. If you are obtaining your QMHP in South Dakota for the first time, please use the
following directions.

Step 1

Go to hitps://dss.sd.gov/gmhp/Default.aspx

WELCOME TO DIVISION OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH TRAINING

Ste p 2 County Board of Mental lliness Member Training
Qualified Mental Health Professional Registration
Click “Register Here" . Login or EEDERR RS

REGISTER USER

Step 3

Fill out your contact information. This will be used to get in contact with you | et inematen

Email

| am a County Beard of Mental lliness Member

First Name

for training purposes as needed. It is recommended to use your personal LastHeme

Day Phone

email rather than your work email. Evening Phone

Physical Address
Address 1
Address 2
City
Stale |Aabama
Zip Code

Separate mailing address

ACsh7a
Veerification Code

*Please remember this password. You oS
will need it to login and take the test! o s

Continus | | Cancsl

Ste p 4 REGISTRATION CONFIRMATION

Confirm your information by clicking “Register”. .

| Register | | Edit || Cancel

Step 5

You will be prompted to log in and will receive a confirmation email from DSSBHQMHP@state.sd.us
notifying you that your account has been activated. Log in with the password you just created and
follow the training instructions on page 5.
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Training Instructions

If you are applying for your QMHP for the first time, please see page 4 for how to register.

Step 1

Go to https://dss.sd.gov/amhp/Default.aspx and log in. If you've forgotten your password, please

see page 9.

Step 2

MY TRAINING
Click on “My Training” on the My_Training Available Training Qualified Mental Health Professional Training 2021
H My Account
lefthand side of the page. The most | ;74 5 ess
current training will be displayed. Change Password
Click “Register”.

Step 3

Fill out the
information that
describes your
qualifications to be
a QMHP. Only select
the licensing options
that apply to you.

TRAINING REGISTRATION

Please check the box that applies to you:

[J A psychologist who is licensed to practice psychology in South Dakota

[J An advanced practice nurse with at least a master's degree from an accredited education program and either two years or one thousand hours of clinical
experience including mental health evaluation and treatment.

[ A certified social worker with a master’s degree from an accredited training program and two years of supervised clinical experience in a mental health setting.

[ A person who has a master’s degree in psychology from an accredited program and two years of supervised clinical mental health experience and who meets
the provision of subdivision 36-27A-2(2).

[J A counselor who is certified under chapter 36-32 as a licensed professional counselor and has two years of supervised clinical experience in a mental health
setting and who is employed by the state of South Dakota or a mental health center.

[ A counselor who is certified under chapter 36-32 as a licensed professional counselor-mental health.
[ A counselor who is certified under chapter 36-32 as a marriage and family therapist with two years of supervised clinical experience in a mental health setting.

[ A physician assistant who is licensed under chapter 36-4A and either two years or one thousands hours of clinical experience that includes mental health
evaluation and treatment.

If you do not feel you

fit into one of these options, please see page 2 for more information.

Once you have selected your licensure another box will appear at the bottom. Please select this

box only if you work
for the federal
government and are
currently licensed in a
profession in another
state, are in good
standing with the
licensing board, and
act within the scope
of your professional
license.

Please check the box that applies to you:

] A psychologist who is licensed to practice psychology in South Dakota.

[ An advanced practice nurse with at least a master’s degree from an accredited education program and either two
experience including mental health evaluation and treatment.

] A certified social worker with a master’s degree from an accredited training program and two years of supervised

] A person who has a master’s degree in psychology from an accredited program and two years of supervised clini
the provision of subdivision 36-27A-2(2)

A counselor who is certified under chapter 36-32 as a licensed professional counselor and has two years of supe
setting and who is employed by the state of South Dakota or a mental health center.

] A counselor who is certified under chapter 36-32 as a licensed professional counselor-mental health.

] A counselor who is certified under chapter 36-32 as a marriage and family therapist with two years of supervised

] A physician assistant who is licensed under chapter 36-4A and either two years or one thousands hours of clinica
l ent

] A professional as listed in subdivision (1) to (8), inclusive, who is employed by the federal government and curre

in good standing with the licensing board, and acting within the scope of the professional’s license.

If selected, you must fill in the federal agency you work for and the state of you licensure.

A professional as listed in subdmasion (1) to (8), inclusive, who 15 employad by the federal government and currently icensed in that profession in another state
in good standing with the licensing board, and acting within the scope of the professional’s license

Federal Agency |
State of Licensure |

|
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Sie p 4 Current Place of Employment
\

Please explain clinical experience and schooling

Fill in your current place of employment,
explain the clinical experience and
schooling you've had.

Step 5 [ | verify that | meet the requirements of SDCL 27A-1-3
[ | verify that my licensure is in good standing with the licensing board.
Verify the following information. [J I verify that | am acting within the scope of my professional licensure.

Step 6

Type your first and last name to sign - : - -
. By signing this document, | verify that all the above is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

and insert the date to attest that the | (s |
above is frue and accurate to the best | == =
of your knowledge and click |
“Continue”.

Step 7

Next Steps:
. W . . 1. Click "Register” and finish the registration process.
CIICk RengTer” . YOU Wl” 2. Upon successful registration, you will receive a confirmation email.
rec eive a Conﬁrmoﬂon 3. Please mail or email a copy of licensure to the Division of Behavioral Health. Email: DSSBHQMHP @state. sd.us

email to indicate you've I’ERegisterI Edit | [ Cancel

successfully registered.

Step 8

Submit a copy of your professional license to the Division of Behavioral Health at
DSSBHQMHP@state.sd.us.

Step 9

Please allow up to 5-7 business days for the Division of Behavioral Health to process your registration.
You will receive an email notification once you've been approved to begin training.

The fraining must be completed within 30 days from the date you start the training, or it will be
deemed as a failed attempt. Failure to complete the fraining will result in a 30-day wait period
before you are able to re-register to take the training/testing again.

Step 10

My Training Available Training Qualified Mental Health Professional Training 2021 [ Start |
My Account

Once approved for training, log into
your account, go to the “My Training”

tab and press “Start”.
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Step 11

Select the first module to begin training. Training modules must be completed in the order they are
listed. You do not need to complete all modules at once. Your progress of completed modules will
be saved. You cannoft save your progress in the middle of a module. You may utilize the workbook
found at dss.sd.gov/behavioralhealth/professional trainings.aspx fo take notes and assist you with

the quiz.

Step 12

You have 60 minutes to complete the
quiz questions at the end of each
video. Please answer all questions or
your training will be marked as a failed
aftempt.

If you answer a question correctly,
your score displayed on the “Training
Modules” page will increase. Each
time you answer a question wrong,
your score will drop. Please note you
need above 75% to pass.

Please note under “*Module Status”,
upon completion of a module, it will
say “Completed” and you can move
on to the next module. You cannot
go back to a past module.

MODULE QuizZ

Warning

You will have 30 minutes to complete the quiz.
There are 1 questions on the quiz. Once you start the quiz, it must be completed or else it will be marked as a failed attempt.

TRAINING MODULES

Training Qualified Mental Health Professional Training 2021
Description South Dakota state law requires Qualified Mental Health Professionals (QMHP) to participate in training provided by the South
Dakota Department of Social Services. Only a QMHP may do an examination required as part of an involuntary mental illness
commitment process.
Score 100%

Module Name Module Status
QMHP Introduction 2021 Completed
New

QMHP Voluntary Admission of Adults 2021

QMHP Vo ssion of Minors 202 New

Step 13

Upon completion of training, your

score will appear, and your
certificate will auto-populate. To

Qualified Mental Health
Professional Training 2021 |

Start Modules

Completed

Renewal

Status(%) | Certificate Date

Expiration
Date

Completed By
Passed

print or download your certificate,

please click “Certificate”.

Please note your expiration date and eligibility for renewal date. You will receive an automated
email reminder 90 days prior to the expiration date.
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Training Questions

| remember having to pay a fee to get my QMHP certification. Do | still have to submit a payment?
No, effective June 1, 2024, there is no longer a fee associated with the QMHP training and
certification.

When will | know if | can start the training?
You will receive an email once you have been approved to take the training.

How long do | have to complete the training?

Once the fraining is initiated, you must complete the entire training within 30 calendar days. Failure
to complete the training will result in a 30-day wait period before you are able to re-register and
take the training/testing again.

What does the training consist of?

There are seven modules in the training, each of which include a video to view followed by quiz
questions. You have 60 minutes to complete the questions at the end of each module. The fime
will start over when you begin a new module. You must receive 75% or more to pass.

Video Length | Number of Quiz

Module o, Questions Work Book Pages

1 5:57 4 2-7

2 3:44 4 8-13

3 6:24 5 14—19

4 5:36 7 20—27

5 4:19 6 28—33

6 2:51 3 34—A41

7 2:12 4 42— 47

What happens if | fail the test?

A failing score is 74% or below. If you do not successfully achieve 75%, you may reapply to retest
after 30 days. A new registration is required. After the waited 30 days, please send an email to
DSSBHQMHP@state.sd.us requesting approval to re-register. Once approved, log back in with the
same email and password to re-register for the QMHP training.

You are not allowed to complete mental status examinations for the involuntary commitment
process nor represent yourself as a QMHP until successfully passing the test with a score of 75% or
greater.

Do | earn CEU’s for this training?
No, the QMHP training is not eligible for CEUs.
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What is the requirement for renewing the training?

The QMHP fraining must be completed every four years. You may register for renewal any time
within three months prior to the expiration of your current eligibility. A reminder will be emailed to
you 90 days prior to your expiration date. Please remember to account for the time it takes to be
approved for training (5-7 business days upon receipt of registration and licensure) if you do not
want your certification to expire before you complete the training again.

What happens to my eligibility for QMHP when my place of employment changes?

If you are an LPC/LCSW, have completed the QMHP fraining and obtain employment with a
different employer, you should contact the Division of Behavioral Health to ensure you still meet the
eligibility criteria for the QMHP. Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 67:62:14:05 further
describes that continued eligibility is contingent on meeting the eligibility criteria found in SDCL 27 A-
1-3.

Example: If you were employed at a CMHC when you first completed the QMHP training but obtain
employment at another agency or go into private practice, you may no longer meet eligibility
requirements for the QMHP, depending on your credentials and experience.

What happens if my QMHP expires before | am able to complete the training again?

The process for renewing your QMHP does not change if your QMHP has expired. You are not
allowed to complete mental status examinations for the involuntary commitment process nor
represent yourself as a QMHP until successfully complete the training.

What happens if my professional license is suspended and/or revoked?

Upon suspension or revocation, please immediately notify the Division of Behavioral Health. Only
individuals in good standing with their licensure and certification board may perform QMHP
examinations. If the Division of Behavioral Health learns of a professional license suspension or
revocation, the Division will remove your name from the list of currently trained QMHPs and will notify
you of this action in writing.

Technical Support Questions

What do | do if | forget my password?

Please click the “Forgot Password” link below the login screen at https://dss.sd.gov/gmhp/Views/
Login.aspx. An email will be sent to the email you registered with. If you have not received the email
within 30 minutes, please check your spam folder. If you did not receive an email in your

spam folder, please contact the Division of Behavioral Health at DSSBHQMHP@state.sd.us or call
605-367-5236 for further assistance.

What should | do if | get the error message “Enter a unique email”?

This message appears when you are attempting to create a new registration with an email already
registered in the system. Click “log in” and enter your email and password (see above for how to
reset your password if needed). If this does not work, contact the Division of Behavioral Health for
assistance at DSSBHQMHP@state.sd.us or call 605-367-5236.

What do | do if | need my name changed on my certificate?
Contact the Division of Behavioral Health at DSSBHQMHP@state.sd.us or call 605-367-5236.
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