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COUNTY CLAIMS PRICING 
OVERVIEW 
South Dakota Medicaid assists counties in complying with their obligations, under the County Poor 
Relief program in SDCL 28-13-29, to pay hospital claims at no more than the amount paid by South 
Dakota Medicaid. Counties should determine they have an obligation to pay for a hospitalization, 
according to SDCL 28-13-32.9, prior to seeking assistance from South Dakota Medicaid. This manual 
provides an overview of how counties can determine the maximum allowed South Dakota Medicaid 
payment.  
 
PROFESSIONAL SERVICES 
South Dakota Medicaid pays for professional services, such as the services of a physician, at the lesser 
of the provider’s usual and customary charge or the established fee on our fee schedule website. 
Counties should refer to our fee schedule website for South Dakota Medicaid’s established rates. Most 
professional services will be listed on the Physician Services fee schedule or the Laboratory Services 
fee schedule. Refer to the other available fee schedules as applicable.   

Modifiers  
Modifiers appended to a procedure code may be informational or may increase or reduce payment.  
Please refer to the Authorized Modifier document for payment affects. 

When multiple modifiers are used, all percentages will be calculated in the payment. For example, if 
CPT code 30115 is billed at $236.60 with modifier 50 and modifier 80 the following calculation applies: 
($236.60 x 150%)*20% = a payment amount of $70.98.  
 
Physician Assistant, Nurse Practitioner, and Clinical Nurse Specialist 
Physician assistant, nurse practitioner, and clinical nurse specialists are reimbursed at the same rate as 
physicians for laboratory services, radiological services, immunizations, and supplies. All other services 
provided by these practitioners are reimbursed at 90 percent of the physician rate.  

Nurse Midwife and Nurse Anesthetist 
Services provided by a nurse midwife, or a nurse anesthetist are reimbursed at the same rate as 
services provided by a physician. 

Anesthesia  
Anesthesia is reimbursed at the lesser of the provider’s usual and customary charge or per South 
Dakota Medicaid’s reimbursement formula. The formula for reimbursement of Anesthesia CPT codes 
(00100 -01999) is the following: (Time Units + Base Units) X Conversion Factor.  

Counties should use the following information to price the claim: 
• Time units must be reported on the claim in 15-minute unit increments, not actual minutes.  
• Base units are not published by South Dakota Medicaid. Refer to CMS’s website for base units. 

http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=28-13
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=28-13-32.9
https://dss.sd.gov/medicaid/providers/feeschedules/dss/
http://dss.sd.gov/docs/medicaid/modifiers.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/Center/Provider-Type/Anesthesiologists-Center.html
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• The conversion factor is the established amount associated with the procedure on the physician 
services fee schedule.   

OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
Most counties pay outpatient hospital claims using the hospital’s cost-to-charge ratio. South Dakota 
Medicaid makes a provider’s cost-to-charge ratio available for the counties through the Hospital 
Information for Counties website. Counties may contact South Dakota Medicaid for a username and 
password by calling 605-773-3495. South Dakota Medicaid considers a hospital’s cost-to-charge ratio 
an appropriate approximation of the Medicaid payment methodology. Counties should submit outpatient 
hospital claims to South Dakota Medicaid if the claim is for emergency services or surgical services.  

South Dakota Medicaid’s goal is to provide counties with price information within 60 days of receipt. In 
some instances, provider claim errors or other issues may result in longer processing times.   

INPATIENT HOSPITAL 
South Dakota Medicaid will price inpatient hospital claims for counties. Counties should submit claims 
to the Division of Medical Services for inpatient hospital pricing. 

SUBMISSION OF CLAIMS AND MEDICAL REVIEWS 
Please submit county claims and medical reviews of emergency services to: 

Department of Social Services 
Division of Medical Services 
Attn: Denise Young 
700 Governors Drive 
Pierre, SD 57501 

MEDICAL REVIEW OF EMERGENCY SERVICES 
Per SDCL 28-13-37.1 a county may review the need for emergency room treatment, an admission, a 
transfer, a continued stay, or inpatient surgical services. The review must be conducted by or under the 
supervision of a physician licensed under SDCL Ch. 36-4, and must be consistent with generally 
accepted medical practice guidelines. A county may request South Dakota Medicaid to provide the 
needed reviews on the county's behalf.  

NON-COVERED SERVICES 
Some medical services are not covered by South Dakota Medicaid. Counties can refer to ARSD 
67:16:01:08 for a general list of services not covered by South Dakota Medicaid and our provider 
manuals for other information regarding noncovered services. South Dakota Medicaid cannot provide 
pricing information for noncovered services. 

 

https://apps.sd.gov/sw30login/
https://apps.sd.gov/sw30login/
https://dss.sd.gov/keyresources/financeoffice/hifc.aspx
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=28-13-37.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=36-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=67:16:01:08
http://sdlegislature.gov/rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=67:16:01:08
https://dss.sd.gov/medicaid/providers/billingmanuals/
https://dss.sd.gov/medicaid/providers/billingmanuals/


SOUTH DAKOTA MEDICAID   
BILLING AND POLICY MANUAL 
County Claims Pricing 

UPDATED 
September 22 

 

PAGE | 3 

QUICK ANSWERS 
1. Can South Dakota Medicaid price all county claims? 

No. For example, if claims are more than two years old or the service is not covered by South 
Dakota Medicaid we are unable to price the claim. 

2. Can South Dakota Medicaid expedite the pricing of our claims? 

South Dakota Medicaid’s goal is to price claims within 60 days of receipt; however, South 
Dakota Medicaid will try to accommodate a county’s request for expedited processing if 
possible.  

3. Can South Dakota Medicaid change information on a claim form? 

No, it would be inappropriate for the State to alter a provider’s claim form. The county should 
contact the provider if they believe the claim form needs to be changed and request the provider 
send a new and corrected claim.  

4. If a county has not yet determined that it is financially responsible for an individual’s 
hospitalization, will South Dakota Medicaid price the claim? 

No, a county should determine that is has an obligation to pay for a hospitalization prior to 
submitting claims to South Dakota Medicaid. 
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