



# Juvenile Justice Medicaid Coverage

The Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA) 2023, section 5121 requires states to provide services 30-days prior to release for Medicaid enrolled juveniles and those in the FFCY aid categories.

The goal is to help provide seamless transitions to medical, dental, vision, and behavioral health providers upon re-entry.

### Juvenile Justice Medicaid Coverage

#### Current

- Incarcerated juveniles enter a suspended Medicaid status with no Medicaid coverage during incarceration.
  - Juveniles with CHIP coverage would have their eligibility closed during an annual renewal period if incarcerated

#### Effective 01/01/2025

- Incarcerated juveniles enter a suspended Medicaid status with active Medicaid coverage 30-days prior to release from a carceral setting.
  - Juveniles with CHIP would no longer have their coverage closed due to incarceration, would remain in suspended status.

# Eligible Individuals

**Eligible Juvenile:** individual under 21 years of age who was determined eligible for any Medicaid eligibility group.

Former Foster Care Youth: individual age 18-26 who is determined eligible for the FFCY eligibility group.

CHIP: under age 19 enrolled in CHIP.

Carceral Status: the youth must be incarcerated through a legal system (state, local, or tribal), must be post-adjudication (post-legal ruling or judgement in a legal case), and be held in an eligible carceral setting.

# Carceral Settings – South Dakota

**Definition:** all types of carceral facilities where eligible juveniles may be confined as an inmate of a public institution post-adjudication. This includes state prisons, local jails, tribal jails and prisons, and all juvenile detention and youth corrections facilities.

#### Juvenile Detention Centers (JDC): South Dakota has 8 JDCs

 Minnehaha County, Beadle County, Brown County, Codington County, Day County, Hughes County, Pennington County, Roberts County

#### **Department of Corrections:** DOC does not operate a stand-alone facility

- Initial incarceration starts in a Juvenile Detention Center (JDC) or county jail.
- Eligible Juveniles are moved to a Group Home setting or Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility (PRTF).
  - Some juveniles may be released to the custody of parents under an aftercare program.
- Ineligible Juveniles remain in JDC until release.

#### Tribal\* Carceral Settings: The state has been made aware of 2 facilities

- Wanbli Wiconi Tipi JDC Rosebud Reservation, Rosebud Sioux Tribe
- Kiyuksa O'Tipi Reintegration Center JDC Pine Ridge Reservation, Oglala Sioux Tribe



<sup>\*</sup>Department of Corrections does not oversee or have administrative control over tribal carceral settings.

### Required Services

**Screenings and Diagnostic:** In the 30 days prior to release (or not later than one week, or as soon as practicable, after release), in coordination with the public institution, provision of any screening or diagnostic service (including a behavioral health screening or diagnostic service) which meets reasonable standards of medical and dental practice, as determined by the state.

**Targeted Case Management:** In the 30 days prior to release and for at least 30 days following release, provide Targeted Case Management to include the following:

- Comprehensive assessment and periodic reassessment of individual needs, to determine the need for any medical, educational, social, or other services;
- Development (and periodic revision) of a specific person-centered care plan based on the information collected through the assessment;
- Referral and related activities;
- Monitoring and follow-up activities.

**Providers:** Medicaid is still defining qualifications for providing Targeted Case Management services.