

Juvenile Justice Medicaid Coverage

Currently incarcerated juveniles enter a suspended Medicaid status with no Medicaid coverage during incarceration or may lose coverage.

 All medical services provided during incarceration at a juvenile detention center are paid for by Department of Corrections and are recouped from parents.

Effective January 1, 2025, states must provide select services post adjudication to eligible juveniles in a carceral setting under Consolidated Appropriations Act 2023, Section 5121.

 The federal requirement allows for Medicaid coverage 30 days prior to release from an eligible public institution.



2

Eligible Individuals

Eligible Juvenile: individual under 21 years of age who was determined eligible for any Medicaid eligibility group.

Former Foster Care Youth: individual age 18-26 who is determined eligible for the FFCY eligibility group.

CHIP: incarcerated youth under age 19 enrolled in CHIP.

Carceral Status: the youth must be incarcerated and post-adjudication (post-legal ruling or judgement in a legal case) and be held in an eligible carceral setting.



3

3

Carceral Settings – South Dakota

Definition: all types of carceral facilities where eligible juveniles post adjudication may be confined as an inmate of a public institution. This includes state prisons, local jails, tribal jails and prisons, and all juvenile detention and youth corrections facilities.

Department of Corrections: Juveniles post-adjudication are under the supervision of the South Dakota Department of Corrections.

- Initial incarceration starts in a Juvenile Detention Center (JDC). South Dakota utilized county jails as JDCs.
- · Eligible Juveniles are moved to a Group Home setting or Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility (PRTF).
 - Some juveniles may be released to the custody of parents under an aftercare program.
- · Ineligible Juveniles remain in JDC until release.

Tribal Carceral Settings: Department of Corrections does not oversee or have administrative control over tribal carceral settings.

DSS is looking to work with tribal carceral settings to provide services under CAA 2023, section 5121



4

4

Required Services

Screenings and Diagnostic: In the 30 days prior to release (or not later than one week, or as soon as practicable, after release), in coordination with the public institution, provision of any screening or diagnostic service (including a behavioral health screening or diagnostic service) which meets reasonable standards of medical and dental practice, as determined by the state.

Targeted Case Management: In the 30 days prior to release and for at least 30 days following release, provide Targeted Case Management to include the following:

- Comprehensive assessment and periodic reassessment of individual needs, to determine the need for any medical, educational, social, or other services;
- Development (and periodic revision) of a specific person-centered care plan based on the information collected through the assessment;
- · Referral and related activities
- · Monitoring and follow-up activities.



5