

Safe Places to Leave your Baby

Parenting is an exciting and enjoyable time for some and for others it can bring a great deal of stress and fear. If for any reason you feel you cannot parent your child, there are safe places where you can leave your baby. These safe places will take your baby with open arms, no questions asked, and will also make sure your baby receives the care and protection he or she deserves.

State law in South Dakota allows you to voluntarily leave your baby with a hospital or child placement agency if your child is less than 60 days old. This is also known as the *Baby Moses Law*. Leaving your baby with one of these places is NOT a crime as long as your child has not been harmed.

You can leave your baby with:

- Hospitals or clinics
- Law enforcement officers
- Licensed child placement agencies
- Department of Social Services offices
- Emergency medical technicians
- Firefighters

You may be asked for medical information related to your baby's medical history. However, you will NOT be required to provide any information, including your name or the other parent's name.

Contact Us

South Dakota Department of Social Services Division of Child Protection Services

Phone: 605.773.3227

Email: CPS@state.sd.us

Online: dss.sd.gov/childprotection



Secure places to leave your baby... no questions asked



Printed on recycled paper | August 2022 Quality Quick Print | 1,000 copies | \$0.37 per copy CPS03



Your Parental Rights Will Be Terminated

If you do not express your intent to return for your baby, your parental rights to your child will be terminated after 14 days. Your baby then is taken in to care by the Department of Social Services' Division of Child Protection Services or the licensed child placement agency.

The place where you leave your baby must notify the Department of Social Services about having your child. The Department **cannot** attempt to identify, contact or investigate you unless it appears your child has been harmed. The Department or the child placement agency will take custody and care for your baby.

Your baby's other parent has the right to file for custody after you have given the baby up. To gain custody, the other parent has 30 days to prove he or she is the parent of your baby and that he or she did not consent to giving up the child's custody.

If the other parent does not come forward and 60 days have passed, a circuit court hearing is held to terminate the parental rights. This means you no longer have any rights to your baby.

Safe Places to Consider

All About U Adoptions

214 N Broadway Marion, SD 57043 Phone: 605.770.2357

Bethany Christian Services

1915 East 8th Street, Suite 101 Sioux Falls, SD 57103 Phone: 605.336.6999

Bethany Christian Services Western South Dakota

508 Columbus Street Rapid City, SD 57701 Phone: 800.238.4269

Catholic Social Services

529 Kansas City Street Rapid City, SD 57701 Phone: 605.348.6086

Lutheran Social Services

621 E Presentation St Sioux Falls, SD 57104 Phone: 605.221.2346 or 888.201.5061

Lutheran Social Services

2920 Sheridan Lake Road Rapid City, SD 57702 Phone: 605.791.6700

New Horizons Adoption Agency Inc.

2500 W 49th St, Suite 213 Sioux Falls, SD 57104-3619 Phone: 800.314.3370

Local DSS Offices to Leave Your Baby

Aberdeen

3401 10th Ave SE 605.626.2388

Brookings

1310 Main Ave S, Suite 101 605.688.4330

Chamberlain

320 Sorenson Dr 605.734.5100

Deadwood

20 Cliff St 605.578.2402

Eagle Butte

1302 N Willow 605.964.4484

Hot Springs

2500 Minnekahta Ave, Building 1 605.745.5100

Huron

1110 3rd SW, Suite 200 605.353.7100

Lake Andes

3rd and Lake 605.487.7607

Martin

404 3rd Ave 605.685.6521

Mission

671 N Marge Ln 605.856.4489

Mitchell

116 E 11th Ave 605.995.8000

Mobridge

920 6th St W 605.845.2922

Pierre

912 E Sioux Ave 605.773.3521

Rapid City

510 N Cambell St 605.394.2525

Sioux Falls

811 E 10th St, 605.367.5444

Sturgis

2200 W Main St 605.347.2588

Vermillion

114 Market St, Suite 102 605.677.6800

Watertown

2001 9th Ave SW, Suite 300 605.882.5050

Winner

649 W 2nd St 605.840.0195

Yankton

3113 Spruce St, Suite 200 605.668.3030



^{*}For more information on this law, see SDCL 25-5A-27 through 25-5A-35.

^{**}If applicable, the Indian Child Welfare Act must be followed.