Safe Havens in South Dakota

Safe places to leave your baby... no questions asked

If for any reason you feel you cannot parent your child, there are safe places where you can leave your baby...no questions asked. These secure places will make sure your baby receives the care and protection he or she deserves.

State law in South Dakota allows you to voluntarily leave your baby with a hospital or child placement agency if your child is less than 60 days old.

Leaving your baby with one of these places is not a crime as long as your child has not been harmed.

Safe Places to Consider:

- ♦ hospitals or clinics
- ♦ law enforcement agencies
- ✤ licensed child placement agencies
- ♥ local DSS offices
- emergency medical technicians
- ♦ firefighters

Contact the South Dakota Department of Social Services Division of Child Protection for more information Phone: 605.773.3227 Email: CPS@state.sd.us Web: dss.sd.gov/childprotection

Printed on recycled paper | September 2023 Alphagraphics | 100 copies | \$0.70 per copy CPS23

South Dakota Department of Social Services