Lynne A. Valenti
Cabinet Secretary

DSS Mobile Logo Mobile Menu Button

Licensing and Registration Information

The Division of Child Care Services is committed to improving the quality, availability and affordability of child care in South Dakota. The Division helps parents, child care providers and others promote the importance of providing safe, healthy, and caring environments for children.

There are four types of regulated child care: 

  1. Registered family day care homes (up to 12 children in care)
  2. Licensed group family day care homes (from 13-20 children in care)
  3. Licensed child care centers (21 or more children in care)
  4. Licensed before and after school care (care of school age children)

Consumer Protection

Report a Concern