Lynne A. Valenti
Cabinet Secretary

DSS Mobile Logo Mobile Menu Button

Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapist Examiners

The board protects the South Dakota consumers of counseling and marriage and family therapy services by mandatory licensing of qualified applicants.

Board Members

Lynell Rice Brinkworth, LMFT, Rapid City, President
Tacey Braithwaite, Sioux Falls, Vice President
Sherwood Schrenk, LPC-MH, Aberdeen
Darrel Kessler, Aberdeen
Cheryl Hartman, Sioux Falls
Sherry Bartels, LPC-MH, Sioux Falls
Tiffany Butler, LPC, Lennox
Jill Schoen, LPC-MH, Mansfield
Roswitha Konz, LPC, Mitchell

It is time to renew your license for 2017. Your current license is valid through Dec. 31, 2016. You must renew your license before this date to avoid late fees or the inactivation of your license.  You can renew multiple licenses, if you have them, using this form

No continuing education is required this renewal cycle. The Board requires 40 continuing education credit hours every two-year compliance period. Four of the required hours must be on the subject of ethics as it relates to counseling, documented by a specific certificate/proof of attendance. The subject of ethics must be documented in a published program, title or breakout description.

For Board Approved Supervisors, at least four hours of supervision-related hours must be included in your continuing education hours to remain in good standing as a supervisor. Proof of this continuing education will be required as part of your 2017 renewal, so please plan accordingly.

Please be advised if you do not renew your license by Dec. 31, 2016, a late fee of $50 will be added to your renewal fee. 

Upcoming Meetings

  • March 30 - 31, 2017 (Sioux Falls)
  • June 16, 2017
  • Aug. 25, 2017
  • Dec. 8, 2017

Additional Information

Contact Us

Board of Examiners for Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists
PO Box 340
1351 N. Harrison Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605.224.1721
Fax: 888.425.3032