Mobile Menu Button

Links and Resources

Community Mental Health Center
There are eleven (11) Community Mental Health Centers in South Dakota that provide services for individuals and families.

Disability Rights of South Dakota
Disability Rights of South Dakota is the non-profit legal services agency dedicated to protecting and advocating for rights and inclusion of South Dakotans with disabilities.

South Dakota's suicide hotline provides resources for suicide and crisis support.

Licensed Professionals Qualified to Conduct Court Ordered Competency Evaluations

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
NAMI offers support, advocacy, and education regarding mental illness.

National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors (NASMHPD)
NASMHPD serves as the national representative and advocate for state mental health agencies and their directors and supports effective stewardship of state mental health systems.

South Dakota Parent Connections
South Dakota Parent Connection (SDPC) is a statewide nonprofit organization that connects families caring for children (birth to age 26) with disabilities or special health care needs to information, training and resources in an environment of support, hope and respect.

South Dakota Suicide Prevention
South Dakota suicide prevention is guided by the South Dakota Strategy for Suicide Prevention.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA focuses its mission on building resilience and facilitating recovery for people with or at risk for mental or substance use disorders.

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE Mental Health Program)
The mission of the WICHE Mental Health program is twofold: 1) to assist states in improving systems of care for mental health consumers and their families; and 2) to advance the preparation of a qualified mental health workforce in the West.

Western Psychiatric State Hospital Association (WPSHA)
WPSHA is committed to ensuring that effective, state-of-the-art mental health treatment and rehabilitation services are provided to the citizens served by publicly operated hospitals. The fifteen states belonging to WPSHA include: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

Yankton Area Mental Wellness, Inc.
Yankton Area Mental Wellness, Inc., referred to as YAMWI, had its beginning in 1999, when a mental wellness conference was established in Yankton, South Dakota, as an annual event. The organization continues to offer an annual conference the first part of June.

General Information

Contact Information

South Dakota Human Services Center
3515 Broadway Ave
PO Box 7600
Yankton, SD 57078-7600

See Also...