Mobile Menu Button

Board of Examiners for Counselors & Marriage and Family Therapists

For information regarding the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) in South Dakota, including phone numbers, recommendations, resources, and links to the CDC and WHO please visit the South Dakota Department of Health COVID-19 Update page.

South Dakota allows for licensure by endorsement if you are licensed in another state as a counselor or marriage and family therapist for at least 3 years and you have taken one of the national examinations required for licensure in South Dakota. If you wish to become fully licensed in South Dakota to provide services in South Dakota, you may do so by completing the appropriate application for licensure by endorsement. If you would like to explore licensure by endorsement, please review the Application for Licensure by Endorsement under Find Applications.

Board of Examiners for Counselor & Marriage and Family Therapists
Jennifer Stalley

Executive Secretary
PO Box 340
1351 N. Harrison Ave.
Pierre, SD  57501
Phone: 605.224.1721
Fax: 888.425.3032

The mission of the South Dakota Board of Examiners for Counselors & Marriage and Family Therapists is to protect the South Dakota consumers of counseling and marriage and family therapy services by mandatory licensing of qualified counselor applicants.

Board Members
Board members are appointed by the Governor to three-year terms. The board consists of nine members, three of whom shall be lay members, one of whom shall be a counselor educator, and five of whom shall be professionals actively engaged in professional counseling or marriage and family therapy and broadly representing a cross section of the licensed disciplines governed by this board. No member may serve more than three consecutive terms.

Lynell Rice Brinkworth, LMFT Therapist - President - Black Hawk
Tiffany Butler, LPC Counselor - Vice President - Lennox
Maureen Gustafson - Lay Member - Rapid City
Cheryl Hartman - Lay Member - Sioux Falls
Jill Janecke, LPC-MH Counselor - Pierre
Roswitha Konz, LPC Counselor - Mitchell
Jay Trenhaile, LPC Counselor Educator - Brookings
Sherwood Schrenk, LPC-MH Counselor - Aberdeen
Jeff Wangen - Lay Member - Rapid City

Additional Information
View upcoming board meetings and meeting minutes on the Boards and Commissions portal.

View archived meeting minutes prior to 2014.