Mobile Menu Button

ICWA Designated Tribal Agents

The regulations implementing the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) provide that Indian Tribes may designate an agent other than the Tribal chairman for service of notice of proceedings under the Act. This notice includes the current list of designated Tribal agents for service of notice.

The South Dakota Legislature passed HB 1051 during the 2006 Legislative Session with the intent to improve the process of notifying tribes in cases subject to ICWA.

Under SDCL § 26-7A-15.3, each tribe may designate an individual or agency to whom ICWA notices must be sent and to whom information regarding a temporary custody hearing should be provided. However, following intervention by a tribe, notices must be sent to the tribal representative or counsel who has appeared on behalf of the tribe pursuant to SDCL § 26-8A-33

In order to designate an agent, the tribe must submit a Designated Tribal Agent request form along with a copy of the provision of the tribal code or tribal resolution appointing the individual or agency as the designated agent for receipt of the notices.

In order to change the address, telephone number or facsimile number for a designated agent listed below, a Designated Tribal Agent - Request for Change of Address form must be submitted.

Effective July 1, 2006, state’s attorneys must send the notices required under ICWA and SDCL Chapter 26-7A to the individual or agency whose name and address are listed below.

If a tribe has not designated an agent under SDCL § 26-7A-15.3, the notices should be sent in accordance with relevant federal regulations 25 C.F.R. 23.12.

Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe
Agency: Indian Child Welfare Program
Address: P.O. Box 590, Eagle Butte, SD 57625
Phone: 605.964.6460
Fax: 605.964.6463
Crow Creek Sioux Tribe
Agency: ICWA Program
Address: P.O. Box 143, Ft. Thompson, SD 57339
Phone: 605.245.2581
Fax: 605.245.2123
Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe
Name: Jessica Morson
Agency: ICWA Program
Address: P.O. Box 283, Flandreau, SD 57028
Phone: 605.997.5055
Fax: 605.997.2225
Lower Brule Sioux Tribe
Name: Lydia Sazue
Address: 187 Oyate Circle, Lower Brule, SD 57548
Phone: 605.473..5561 ext. 4701
Fax: 605.473.5606
Email Preferred:
Oglala Sioux Tribe

OST CPS/ICWA Director: Susan Schrader
ICWA Specialist: Hope Flournoy and Wendelin Janis
Tribal Attorney: James Sword
Address: P.O. Box 604, Pine Ridge, SD 57770
Phone: 605.867.5752
Fax: 605.867.5941
Email All:,, and

OST ICWA Rapid City Office (Wendelin Janis’s location):
Address: 1205 E. St. James St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone: 605.407.8255

Rosebud Sioux Tribe

Name: Shirley Bad Wound
Agency: ICWA Program
Address: P.O. Box 609, Mission, SD 57555
Phone: 605.856.5270
Fax: 605.856.5268

Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate
ICWA Contacts: Evelyn Pilcher and Darrell quinn
Address: P.O. Box 509, Agency Village, SD 57262
Phone: 605.698.3992
Fax: 605.698.3999
Email Both: and
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe
Name: Michelle Harrison
Agency: Indian Child Welfare Act Program
Address: P.O. Box 770, Ft. Yates, ND 58538
Phone: 701.854.3095
Fax: 701.854.5575
Yankton Sioux Tribe
ICWA Director: Kennedy Sully
Address: P.O. Box 1153, Wagner, SD 57380
Phone: 605.384.4500
Fax: 605.384.5014
Cell: 605.469.5623
Email Both: and