Lynne A. Valenti
Cabinet Secretary

DSS Mobile Logo Mobile Menu Button

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist

No hours can count toward the LMFT license without prior approval of the plan. The application should not be completed or submitted until all the licensing requirements have been met and an applicant is ready for licensure review/consideration.

The LMFT application requires completion and a non-refundable $100 fee paid before licensure consideration. After approval, the applicant pays $100 initial license fee. The initial license fee is not prorated.

Licenses are renewed annually for $100 by December 31. A license not renewed by January 1 carries a $50 penalty in addition to the renewal fee and should be sent along with the renewal form.

Forty hours of approved continuing education is required biennially for renewal each odd-numbered year.

The National Examination for Marital and Family Therapy is required for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists.

A South Dakota license-trainee for the LMFT must pass the NMFTE before submitting the Plan of Supervision for their supervised training requirements. This requires completion of an Application for National Examination among other requirements.

The examination is computer-based and offered one full week every month. Dates and locations are determined by the examination service.   The one test center in South Dakota is located in Watertown.

Application for the exam must be completed on a form provided by the board. If approved, the Board office will send the Applicant a letter with an approval code and links to the Professional Testing Corporation’s Online Application System.  Candidate handbooks can be obtained here.


The LMFT must abide by the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice.