Mobile Menu Button

Professional Training Areas

Two Girls

The following 15 categories represent professional training that all practitioners should receive in order to provide for the unique developmental needs of the children, youth and families they serve.  Within each of these broad categories, various topics can be addressed and easily tracked for those enrolled in the Pathways to Professional Development Career Lattice.

  1. Child growth and development
  2. Child abuse and neglect
  3. Guidance and behavior management
  4. Observing children
  5. Identification and prevention of communicable diseases
  6. Program health and safety
  7. Nutrition for children
  8. Program management and regulation
  9. Interpersonal communication and relationships
  10. Cultural diversity
  11. Learning environments
  12. Age-appropriate planning
  13. Professionalism
  14. Partnerships with parents
  15. Inclusion of all children